Testing Information  |  California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP)  |  California Alternate Assessments (CAAs)  |  California Science Test (CAST)  |  CELDT  |  Physical Fitness  |  Further Information

Testing InformationGo To Top of Page

Click here for information on testing in the state of California.

California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP)Go To Top of Page

California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP)

Information prior to year 2014/15 -  STAR tests (Standardized Testing and Reporting)

All students in grades 3-8, 11 are tested in English Language Arts and Math.
These tests are used for various purposes:
  • to compare the achievement of the District's students with other students from across the nation
  • to assist in assessing individual students strengths and weaknesses
  • to assist in instructional planning
  • as part of an evaluation of classroom, site and District program effectiveness
If you would like to opt your child out of CAASPP testing, you must submit a letter to your child's school.

California Alternate Assessments (CAAs)Go To Top of Page

The summative California Alternate Assessments (CAAs) for English Language Arts/Literacy (ELA), mathematics, and science are administered to eligible students.  The CAAs are for students with the most significant cognitive disabilities and whose individualized education plan (IEP) team has designated the use of an alternate assessment on statewide summative assessments.

Eligible students are those whose disability prevents them from taking the Smarter Balanced Summative Assessments for ELA and mathematics and the California Science Test.
For more information, click on these links:

California Science Test (CAST)Go To Top of Page

The California Science Test (CAST) is an online test based on the California Next Generation Science Standards.  All local educational agencies (LEAs) with eligible students in grades 5 and 8 will administer a pilot CAST.  LEAs with eligible students in high school (i.e. students in grades 10, 11, or 12) will be pre-selected and only one grade will participate in the Spring 2017 pilot.  The CAST pilot uses the current California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress test delivery system and will only be administered online.  Students will not receive scores for the pilot test; however, student participation data will be collected and reported for accountability.
Who takes the CAST pilot?  Participation in the CAST pilot is required for all students in grades 5 and 8, and for the pre-selected high school grades with the exception of eligible students who will take the California Alternate Assessment for Science pilot.
For more information, click here.

CELDTGo To Top of Page

State law requires the development of a state test that school districts must give to students whose home language is not English. This test is called the California English Language Development Test (CELDT). The purpose of this test is:
  • to identify new students who are English Learners, in kindergarten through grade 12.
  • to monitor their progress in learning English.
  • to help decide when they are proficient in English.
The new CELDT implementation will be called the ELPAC (English Language Proficiency for California) will take place in Fall of 2018.

Physical FitnessGo To Top of Page

Physical Fitness is assessed in grades 5, 7 and 9 each school year in accordance with State mandates.

The physical fitness test designated fdor California public students is the FITNESSGRAM, developed by The Cooper Institute. The test assesses six major fitness areas, including:
  • aerobic capacity (cardiovascular endurance)
  • body composition (percentage of body fat)
  • abdominal strength and endurance
  • trunk strength and flexibility
  • upper body strength and endurance
  • overall flexibility
A number of test options are provided so that most students can participate.

Click here to view the Physical Fitness Test results.  Enter Willows Unified in the search field and click submit.

Further InformationGo To Top of Page

For further information, please visit the CDE Parent's Reference Page